top of page

The First Job: Pain and Pleasure of Learning Your Way in the Corporate World



I had an interesting chat with my younger cousin, Marian, today who is about to go on a job training abroad. I was about the same age when I started with my first job in a multinational company, excited and nervous to tackle a new journey. At that time, I was only informed by peers to pass the interview, ace the English exam, avoid being late, and be polite. Nobody told me that I was in for a life-changing experience.


My mentor was a sharp-minded 50 year-old divorcee who has devoted her life to her job for the last 30 years. It felt like I was going to work with a USSR leader because the list of requirements she gave me on my first day sounded as if it was more about what she wanted, and not what our boss might demand:

  1. Have a notebook with you all the time. Write everything, including bathroom breaks.

  2. Don’t be afraid to ask. If instructions are unclear, ask to repeat.

  3. Come to work before 8:00 am, and leave after 5:00 pm (our official working hours is from 8am-5pm!)

  4. You’re not allowed to exceed the 1 hour break unless there’s an acceptable excuse why you have to. If you’re having lunch with another employee, you need my approval first.

  5. Be polite but don’t be too friendly. You’re not allowed to speak with anyone about personal matters besides work.

  6. You don’t go to the boss unless you’re called. If he calls you, you tell me first.

  7. You don’t leave your chair unless it’s related to your task, bathroom break, or lunch break.

  8. Office e-mail and telephone are only for work. You don’t have an internet access. Keep your personal communications before and after office hours. No texting and personal calls unless it’s very important.

  9. Dress appropriately. No excessive makeup, even on Wednesdays. This doesn’t need further explanation.

  10. You must finish all the tasks given to you before the end of the day. Prepare your agenda for the next day at 4:00 pm every day and give me the list for approval.

I was squirming in my seat as I was reading the list, but I was able to keep my composure, smiled and said, “Noted, thank you.” Being the youngest in an organization with more than 500 employees, it was totally tough for me. I questioned what I was getting myself into. No talking? No friends? I thought work was supposed to be a fun learning experience, not traumatic!


The first assignment she gave was for me to become an expert in using our 2 copier machines and printers. Next, she made me memorize the organizational map. After that, she made me read and understand the HR manuals and asked me to mark any grammatical structure that may sound inappropriate. When our boss asked me to compose a memo, she marked my first draft with the biggest question mark I’ve never seen in school. Haha. I’ve had a nightmare after that. Whenever I get lunch invitations from other departments, she would (politely) decline on my behalf. I always complained to my mom and friends how I wanted to quit after probation, but my mom asked me to keep taking the challenge and try to understand my senior colleague; and I sighed, “But what about me?! She treats me as if I know nothing, and she’s not my boss!”


One day, she required me to join her for weekend overtime. I tried to come up with an excuse, but I couldn’t. When I got to the office, I saw piles of documents on my desk and a new scanner installed to my computer. I exhaled heavily as I sat down and opened my PC. When she walked in, she mentioned that she brought snacks for breakfast and she’ll be buying our lunch. After she gave instructions where I’m supposed to scan and create a separate archiving system for the documents, she turned her back (as usual) and began working on her own agenda.


A few moments later, she asked, “Do you know why I’m strict with you?” to which I graciously answered, “Because you want me to be like you..?”


She suddenly stopped typing and turned to me. She explained, “We received a number of applications to fill your position before you came. Most of the applicants are already working here. You are working for an executive office. You’re working for a powerful executive. You’re not only representing yourself, you are representing the whole team. L, you, and me, we are all the extensions of our boss. You’re young and attractive, and you’re not in college anymore where you can just ignore those who will vie for your attention. Our boss has the power to give favors, and ambitious people will do whatever they can to get to him. Whatever good people see in any of us, it reflects on the whole team, and the same goes with the bad. There are a lot of people questioning why we chose a young blood over those who are already experienced. It’s not only because you don’t know anybody in the organization, but most importantly, your job requires utmost confidentiality and focus. Yes, you are smart and you learn fast, and you think I’m not being fair with you. You think you’re only photocopying, scanning, and filing documents? If you read the content of each paper that passes through your desk, they all contain vital information and requests that necessitates crucial decisions for the company and staff. You think it’s unfair that I don’t allow you to compose memos right now? It’s because you need to master the basics, how every machine works in our office, so when you are executing a higher level of responsibility and the printer suddenly stops, you’ll know right away what to do without waiting for the IT to come and fix it. You need to have the initiative to try to solve things on your own before you cry for help. You need to have the discipline and courtesy to know what you can and cannot discuss with your officemates. I want you to be keen on sensing who is real and not, who will only use you to their advantage. At the end of the day, nobody cares about our personal life, we all go to sleep and worry about our own future. A woman who has a job, and knows how to keep it, does not need a man to survive. Your man may leave you, your marriage may fall apart, but your job will be the reason why you are able to keep a roof over your head and food on your table.”


After her speech, my entire impression about her changed and I began to appreciate my work. Things got a little better in our office, she became more open and gave me a glimpse to her personal life; but her rules stayed. Two years later, she moved when our boss took over a higher office. They left me—and I got promoted--to train the new staff of the incoming executive.


To this day, I am grateful for all the things I learned from her and how I wish I could tell her how right she has been on so many things and with people. Her lessons about work ethics and personal choices have been rooted in me though it’s been more than a decade since we’ve said our farewell. Wherever you are Tita Chat, thank you… you are one phenomenal woman.


Xoxo.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page