top of page

Starting “Oven” Again

If there’s a “writer’s block”, then I went through a “baker’s block”. I barely spend time in the kitchen nor made a cake for more than an hour for the past 2-3 years, and lately I just felt a strong urge to go back.

For months I have been searching for fresh inspirations that will entice me to create something new. I signed up for a couple of online recipe newsletters but I found it difficult to browse everything when I’m also eager in getting (other) things done besides my passion for food. Don’t get me wrong; I love my present job, as I believe the “universe conspired” for me to be in it. I’m grateful for the opportunity working with business moguls who are brilliant in running an empire and I learn a lot from them. It helps me to keep my service and ethics in check.

My interest has been rekindled recently after a conversation with one of the best pastry chefs of today; and I’m deeply humbled for that brief opportunity. I also realized that I would always be busy, that my schedule will always be swamped and I’ve been using it as an excuse to sleep when I get extra hours to chill. I need 2 T’s to get back on track: Tools & Time. The first is quite manageable to acquire but the latter would be challenging. Some would say, “Get rid of your job and do what you love”, but I believe I just need to work on my passion in between because I also like what I do as an admin professional. I simply need to find balance and manage my time to be as dedicated with my pastry gadgets. I don’t need to drop other things or people that don’t inspire me. Our purpose in life is to love, even those who are unlovable. The only way to fulfill this is to balance the amount of time we spend with the inspiring and uninspiring sources. When we balance, we will know real peace and happiness.

As a close friend said, “There’s no point in holding anything back since we’re all going to end up under the soil one day. So just do what you can to work on your dreams, even if you keep pausing in between, because what matters most is you get it done.”

Xoxo, R.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page