top of page

The Lighter



My colleague M stopped by my office to borrow a lighter to take his yosi break. No, I don’t smoke; I use it to light up my candles. We had a brief conversation when he asked if I notice how there seems to be aggression everywhere, such as road rage, couples fighting about domestic issues, people pushing each other in groceries to get ahead of the line, hate for religions, etc. He said it’s sad to see that anywhere you go, you will feel the angst of others… everywhere in the world.


I shared my thoughts on the subject and said maybe it’s because a lot of people have forgotten to simply believe in the power of love and kindness. It has to begin somewhere; and that is from us. Feeling and being indifferent does not help in making this realm a better place. We also need to choose to be grateful and appreciate what we already have—and those we’ve yet to receive. Our blessings come with a purpose, no matter how small it may seem sometimes. A lot of people are jealous with what others possess, and the sad thing is, they don’t notice nor admit this until someone points it out to them; or sometimes they figure it out on their own after damage has been done. It also depends on how we feel inside; because it's a fact that whatever others see on the outside emanates from within. All the positive virtues in life are free; we just need to practice it more often. We always have a choice whether to be nice or be spiteful.


He smiled and said, “Thank God we’re still young. We can still try to help make things right!”

I laughed and quipped, “You are. I’m not.”


His eyes widened after he verified my age, and he asked what my secret is for “looking young”; and I answered, “I smile a lot. I do my best to share my blessings and I mind my own business. I converse more with those who radiates positivity and contentment. Life may not be perfect, but I know whatever it throws at me are meant to be turned into cakes and pies.”


Let’s choose to be a lighter of hope, faith, love, and kindness to everyone we come across beginning today and the rest of our lives.


Have a beautiful Sunday.


Xoxo.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page